spring 2012 symposium

Student Philanthropists of the Year

Amelia Wilson is a member of the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology Student Council and is the president of Engineers Without Borders, which is a program where participants design, build and test water purification technologies. 

Katie Haning is active in the Community Health Fair, Junior Girl Scout Day, OSU Student Foundation and World Changers. She spent time in South Asia working at a girls’ school through a cultural exchange program. 

Kelsey Cottom serves as the president of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Student Council in addition to volunteering with Breast Cancer Awareness Week, Clean the Campus, Eskimo Joe’s Juke Joint Jog, Morrison Funny Farm, Red Cross Community Blood Drive, Salvation Army Angel Tree and the Special Olympics. 

Rachel Benbrook is a senator and vice chair of the Sustainability Committee for the Student Government Association. She is also active in Big Event, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Eco-OSU, Into the Streets, International Justice Museum, Mortar Board, OSU Student Foundation, Pencils of Promise, Relay for Life, Thanda, The Wells Project and TOMS Shoe Club. 

Mallory Ross interned for Into the Streets, is a member of the OSU Student Foundation and volunteers with the Methodist Conference Church Camp. In high school, she organized Rock N Run Philanthropy, which is a fun run and carnival event supporting the regional food bank.

Philanthropist of the Year

Martha Burger, senior vice-president of human and corporate resources at Chesapeake Energy, was named Philanthropist of the Year. Burger is a 1973 medical technology alumna who gave two record-setting gifts to OSU-Oklahoma City and FFA leadership officers attending the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.  

Keynote Speaker

The keynote speaker for the 2012 Spring Symposium was Jennifer Buffett, co-chair and president of the New York-based NoVo Foundation, a philanthropic organization focused on creating a more just and balanced world based on cooperation and partnership, primarily through the empowerment of girls and women.



View the 2012 Symposium photos here.
Watch the 2012 Symposium video recap here.

Student Philanthropists of the year: From left
to right,Amelia Wilson, Katie Haning, Kelsey
Cottom, Rachel Benbrook, Mallory Ross 

Martha Burger

Jennifer Buffett


400 South Monroe / P.O. Box 1749 / Stillwater, OK 74076-1749
Ph. 800.622.4678 / Fax 405.385.5102 / info@OSUgiving.com
© 2013